Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hell Hath No Fury Like A Woman Scorned

I recently came across this quote and I wondered what it actually meant.
I certainly have heard this before but I never really thought much about it.
So I took the initiative to do a little digging and I now find this quote so interesting.

To me this quote always sounded very Shakespearean to me. Words like “hath” and “scorned” are not used so much anymore these days. In my secondary school (equivalent to High Schools), I did a couple of Shakespeare plays on stage so I was familiar with that old English Language. Honestly, I thought this was one of William Shakespeare’s works. Boy was I wrong.

This quote was taken off the play ‘Love for Love’ by an English poet/playwright by the name of William Congreve in 1695.
*Are all good playwrights named William?* πŸ˜›
In fact, the original line in the play was,

Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned

I guess it was simplified to make it easier for us, modernised humans to say it.

So let’s break it down to understand it,

Hell describes a place where one will suffer horribly.
Hath is the old term for Has.
Fury defines the anger of one.
Scorned means someone who has been rejected in a shameful way.

When it says Hell Hath No Fury, it says that Hell does not have that kind of anger.
Like A Woman Scorned relates to a woman being shamefully disrespected or humiliated.

So all in all, it is trying to say that Hell which is perceived as one the most terrible places to be in, cannot compete with the terror of a woman when she is scorned.
Sounds pretty brutal to me, comparing the behaviour of a woman being worse than Hell.

Yes, we women can be really mean at times but doesn’t men too?

