Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Alright, so this isn’t a post on a proverb, idiom or phrase. It’s about Shakespeare, whose works I LOVE very much. Plus, Joss Whedon (of The Avengers, Buffy/Angel and Firefly/Serenity fame) is the director. PLUS, it stars Nathan Fillion
*cue fangirl screams*
Oh what could be better?

*swoons*

From what I gathered, this film is shot in black and white over the span of 12 days. It was shot in Whedon’s house with his wife, Kai Cole as the executive producer. Just to be clear, I have not watch this film yet but I know I’m going to love it. Why? A director with commitment. Nice.

Alright, a quick summary of Much Ado About Nothing (MAAN). There’s Benedick and Beatrice whose family and friends are trying to get them to fall in love, but they themselves don’t want to. Then there’s Claudio and Hero, a couple very much in love. Here comes Don John who tricks Benedick and Beatrice into falling for each other and Claudio to leave Hero at the altar. With the help of Dogberry, a master of malaproprism (one who has a way with his words where he messes them up in a humourous way), he gets rid of Don John and everyone lives happily ever after.

Other than my love for Shakespeare, what got me really excited for this film is the cast. The cast is made up of Whedon’s close friends. There’s my favourite actor, Nathan Fillion (who plays Dogberry). Now Fillion is one funny guy, both in real life and in most of his works (Castle, Firefly, Serenity, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog). So with him playing Dogberry, this should be interesting!

Dogberry (Nathan Fillion) on the right.

Then there are Amy Acker and Alexis Denisof who plays Beatrice and Benedick respectively. They are both from the awesome TV series Buffy the Vampire Slayer and its spinoff, Angel. Here they are,

Love this shot of Benedick (Denisof) and Beatrice (Acker)

Other than that there’s Sean Maher (Firefly/Serenity) and Clark Gregg (The Avengers) and other familiar faces.

Here’s Beatrice and Hero (Jillian Morgese)

A shot of Claudio (Fran Kranz)

Now I really can’t wait until I get to watch this movie!
I shall end this post with some Firefly/Serenity appreciation photo.
Yes, I’m a browncoat.
I love you, Capt’n Mal.

Simon Tam (Maher) and Captain Mal Reynolds (Fillion) hugging at the MAAN’s premiere in the Toronto International Film Festival. What a sight!

