Tags

, ,

Today, I highlight three proverbs that are a foodie’s nightmare, which I am. I love food, all kinds of food and I have to say, I eat a lot. However these proverbs are probably what I should practice; to eat less. I’m not saying to not eat or to skip a meal, just make that portion smaller because chances are, you are like me and you love to eat too.

A famous proverb, eat to live not live to eat. This one tells us that we should eat to keep alive and not love to indulge our greed. On the other hand, I feel as if we should be able to indulge ourselves in some good comfort food once in awhile. If not, life would be pretty boring and bland. Well, you know what they say; all work and no play make Jack a dull boy!

Another similar proverb would be the eye is bigger than the belly. This means that the visual appeal of food makes us eat even when we have no appetite. And here’s another problem of mine, anything that looks delicious makes me hungry and this I’m sure I am not alone in this. Food can really make one hungry even right after having a meal.

For those who’d want to be healthier, here’s one that might help, enough is as good as a feast. This means moderation is ultimately more satisfying than excess. Of course, one should never gorge themselves. Instead, you should stop eating once you feel full and take smaller portions but many.

Well, there you go, three complementing and similar proverbs.
Let me know in the comments if there are any more similar proverbs, or better yet, any contradicting one.
All these talk of eating and food is making me hungry.
I’m off to eat!

